Home‎ > ‎

Whats Happening


Join Us 11/14/17 For A Community Conversation On Addiction

posted Nov 13, 2017, 8:31 AM by Brian Martin

See attached.

November Newsletter Now Available

posted Nov 5, 2017, 5:07 AM by Brian Martin


Ross High School Announces First Quarter Honor Roll

posted Oct 30, 2017, 10:19 AM by Brian Martin


October Newsletter Now Available

posted Oct 4, 2017, 11:12 AM by Brian Martin


September Newsletter Now Available

posted Sep 12, 2017, 6:28 PM by Brian Martin


Attendance Policy, Back-To-School Newsletter Now Available

posted Jul 23, 2017, 11:46 AM by Brian Martin   [ updated Jul 24, 2017, 6:52 AM ]

ATTENDANCE POLICY

The State of Ohio requires that all children between the ages of 6 and 18 years of age attend school every day that school is open.  All students are, therefore, required to attend school regularly.  Students are also expected to be on time for class so that they may receive the maximum benefit from the academic program.  Effective July 1, 2017, Ohio law mandated public schools to provide closer supervision and documentation for student attendance (House Bill 410). 

Excused Absences Include:

·   Personal illness or injury

·   Illness or death in the family.

·   Funeral of immediate family member or relative

·   Quarantine

·   Religious holiday

·   Court appearances

·   Pre-approved absences.  Five (5) days per year approved in advance by school administration (outlined in “Vacation Days” on page 26)

·   College visits (prior arrangements and approval from guidance office)/Official documentation must be provided to the office upon returning from the college visit

 

All other absences are unexcused.  Students may not be permitted to make up work for any unexcused absences.

 

If a child accumulates (excused or unexcused) absences equal or exceeding 38 hours per month or 65 hours per year, Ross Local Schools will provide written notification of these absences at 38 hours per month, 56 hours per year, 65 hours per year, and 72 hours per year.

 

Students with excessive unexcused absences will be deemed “habitual truant” under HB 410.  This is defined as students with unexcused absences totaling 30 or more consecutive hours, 42 hours or more per month, or 72 hours or more per year.  Students meeting this threshold will be assigned to the Absence Intervention Team.  Within 14 days of an assignment to the Absence Intervention Team, an intervention plan will be developed.  The district is expected to make reasonable efforts to communicate this plan to the parent/guardian within 7 days of the development.  If of age, the district will contact the Registrar of Motor Vehicles for the suspension of a student’s driver’s license.  Truancy will be filed 60 days after the plan is initiated if the student does not participate or does not make progress.

 

ATTENDANCE Procedure

Parents must phone the school before 9:00 A.M. when their child is going to be absent. Upon returning to school after being absent, students are to present an excuse note written and signed by a parent/guardian to the attendance station. This written explanation of absence must be submitted to the attendance station within two (2) school days following the student's return to school; otherwise the absence will be unexcused.  Students must bring this note from home even though their parent or guardian may have spoken with the attendance office the previous day.

 

Students may submit a maximum of five (5) parent/guardian notes per semester for absences deemed “excused”.  After five (5) parent/guardian notes, written documentation from a treating physician, nurse practitioner, or physician assistant stating the day(s) absent and reason for such absences is required.

 

Attendance Tardy POLICY

Students are expected to arrive to school before 7:20 A.M.  Students that are not in their RAM bell when the bell rings at 7:20 A.M. will be considered tardy to school.  A student arriving late to school must report immediately to the attendance station.  A student who has been ill or who has had an emergency doctor or dentist appointment may present a written note from a parent/guardian/physician up to three (3) times in a semester.  Students reporting to school after 9:00 A.M. will earn one half day absence.  Reporting to school after 10:30 A.M. considered a full day absence.  Time missed will also count toward the new attendance policy established in HB 410.

 

Unexcused tardies or tardies exceeding three (3) written notes in a semester will result in school consequences.

1st Tardy (of each semester): Warning

2nd Tardy: Office warning and phone call home

3rd Tardy: 1 unexcused absence and after-school detention

4th Tardy: Friday School and 1 week removal of parking privileges

5th Tardy: Friday School and 2 week removal of parking privileges

6th and Subsequent: For every 3 unexcused tardies, students will earn 1 unexcused absence.  In addition, students will earn ACE (Alternative Classroom Environment) and loss of parking privileges for the semester/year (Refunds will not be issued).  Students will also be referred to the Absence Intervention Team if they accumulate enough hours to be “habitual truant”.

 

EARLY DISMISSAL

If it is necessary for a pupil to be dismissed early, the student must bring a written request from his/her parent or guardian to the office before first block begins. The note should include the reason for the early dismissal, the phone number where the parent or guardian can be reached to confirm the dismissal, the student's first block classroom number, and the parent or guardian signature. Only medical appointments that can be confirmed, funerals, and illness are excused early dismissals. All other early dismissals will be unexcused. Time missed will also count toward the new attendance policy established in HB 410 (refer to “Attendance Policy” on page 3).

 

Vacation Days

Students may be taken out of school for trips or vacations a maximum of 5 days per school year. At least two weeks advanced notice must be given to administration for the absences to be considered excused. The responsibility for such absences resides with the parent(s), and they must not expect any work missed by their child to be re-taught by the teacher. It is the responsibility of the student/parent to notify teachers and to request work. The two-week time frame must be strictly followed in these cases. 

RHS Announces 4th Quarter Honor Roll

posted May 31, 2017, 12:02 PM by Brian Martin


May Newsletter Now Available

posted May 3, 2017, 5:11 AM by Brian Martin


Final Exam Information

posted May 2, 2017, 9:32 AM by Brian Martin

Seniors are expected to attend 1st & 2nd block classes on May 15th.  


Seniors will take their 3/4 Block exams during regular class time on May 15th.  


Seniors will take their 1/2 Block exams during regular class time on May 16th.  


Seniors will be dismissed AFTER 2nd block (and turning in their Chromebooks if still needed) on May 16th.


No student will be permitted to leave in the middle of an exam period.  


Students that are exempt from taking a final exam do not have to report to that particular exam period.  Exempt students do not need to provide a note for their absence.


Any student who needs to turn their Chromebook in early for a legitimate reason should see Mrs. Partin in the Media Center.


Any student who fails to turn in their Chromebook before leaving for summer will be issued an obligation or, in the case of seniors, will not be permitted to participate in Commencement.  


The schedule for exams in grades 9-11 is below;


Thursday, May 18th


3rd Block Exam - 7:20 AM to 9:20 AM


4th Block Exam - 9:30 AM to 11:30 AM



Friday, May 19th


1st Block Exam - 7:20 AM to 9:20 AM


2nd Block Exam - 9:30 AM to 11:30 AM



All students will be dismissed at 11:30 AM on 5/18 & 5/19.

Important Info for Seniors & Parents About Graduation

posted Apr 11, 2017, 7:16 AM by Brian Martin

Please see attached.  

1-10 of 142